54

Barão de Santos Palace

Barbas Lopes Arquitectos e HAHA Arquitectura Paisagista, 2017 (reab.)

DMF

Tours

Guided tour made by the author of the architectural project himself or by an invited specialist.

Sérgio Catumba

Maximum 15 people per visit

No reservation required; first-come, first-served

Photography not allowed

Description

Built in 1862 by the widow of the Baron of Santos, Carolina Augusta de La Rocque, this small palace building in Príncipe Real has served as the seat of the Japanese Legation, the Casa de Braganza Foundation and Instituto Camões. It was abandoned in 2000. Though eclectic in style, it has a pronouncedly Classical decorative idiom, including a vestibule, a grand stairway and spaces that determine the organisation of the rooms on all the elevations. The ongoing remodelling project seeks to conserve as much of the original state as possible. This is a unique opportunity to see this renovation project, as the building will soon be divided into four private dwellings.

Location

Praça do Príncipe Real, 14

Directions: Google Maps / Apple Maps

Public Transport

Bus: 758, 773

Subway: Rato (Linha Amarela)